Delhi-Varanasi RMR high-speed train project to be submitted by August to Ministry of Railways


NEW DELHI (Metro Rail News): The Delhi-Varanasi high speed train project is progressing and the ground survey work has been completed for the project and based on the data obtained from it, work on a a detailed project report (DPR) is in progress. Despite certain obstacles to the work due to the ongoing corona crises, the DPR will be submitted by August to the Ministry of Railways.

The National High-Speed ​​Rail Corporation Limited (NHSRCL) began the LIDAR (Light Detection and Ranging) investigation for this project from January of this year. LiDAR surveying is a technique in which laser equipment is mounted on a helicopter or aircraft to perform a ground survey. This technology delivers accurate survey data and results in less time. This modern technology was used in the study of the Delhi-Varanasi high-speed rail corridor after the Ahmedabad-Mumbai high-speed rail corridor.

According to the survey, the complete roadmap of the railway project is being prepared and on this basis, an accurate description of the proposed railway and its surroundings is collected. Data is collected on the geographical location, the nature of the terrain, the distance between two important places, etc. On this basis, the land requirements for the project are revealed. Along with this, the design of the structure, stations, locomotive depot and other important construction places are also marked. Likewise, other important decisions are made on the basis of the information received from the investigation.

Frauscher sensor technology

According to NHSRCL (National High-Speed ​​Rail Corporation Limited) officials, the draft report has been submitted to the Ministry of Railways. From now on, DPR will also be delivered soon. After government approval, land acquisition and construction work will be started on the ground floor.

The Delhi-Varanasi high-speed rail corridor will pass through 22 districts of Uttar Pradesh and will have 12 stations on the route. The stations offered are Delhi, Noida, Jewar Airport, Mathura, Agra, New Etawah, South Kannauj, Lucknow, Raibareli, Prayagraj, New Bhadoi and Varanasi.

When completed, high-speed trains will run on the corridor at a maximum speed of 300 km / h and an 865 km journey between Delhi and Varanasi will be completed in less than three hours.


About Kevin Strickland

Check Also

This is how Chinese provinces compete to bring in new projects. This is called localized negotiation

A popular cliche among opinion writers writing about China is that everything works through guanxi …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.